You have searched for

1 night (Feb 22 - Feb 23)
2 adults

Arbour Guest House

4.5 (74 reviews)
Dunollie Road
Tel: 07770 931 967
Arbour Guest House and Victoria Villa are next door to St Annes Guest House. Built in 1880 the houses retain many Victorian features, high ceilings and original cornices, with all the comforts of a modern home. Arbour and Victoria Guest Houses are very close to the Town Centre and many local amenities are close by. The Atlantis Leisure Centre, The Corran Halls,Tennis Courts, McCaigs Tower, the Cathedral, Oban Distillery,and local Cinema are all within easy walking distance. We are also conveniently situated for buses,trains and ferries. Parking is available in the street. Pay and Display during the day, and free at night. The Guest Houses have 16 letting rooms, all comfortably furnished, with colour T.V., complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms range from Ensuite, Standard and Budget.
Total rates, from Thu 22 Feb 2024, to Fri 23 Feb 2024, for 1 nights.
Room Description
Max
Rate
Number
Book
{{ allSelectedUnits.length }} room, {{ totalNumberOfGuests }} guests
£{{ totalBookingCost }}
choose rooms
No Image
{{ w2s.availString }}
Includes:
{{ w2s.amenities }}
also available for
{{ otherWaysToSell.unitName }}
only

Child Ages Child Age

Facilities

  • Pets are welcome, but we must be advised in advance. Not all rooms are suitable.
  • Breakfast Room
  • Early Breakfast By Arrangement
  • Garden For Residents' Use
  • Internet Access

Policies

Check In: Between 15:30 and 18:00
Check Out: Between 6:00 and 10:30
Wi-fi: Wireless internet is available and is free of charge.
Smoking: There is no smoking permitted anywhere within the property.
Parking: On street parking is available at a charge of £8.00 per day. Parking is available nearby at a charge of £8.00 per day.

Children: Children of all ages are welcome.
Pets: Pets are not allowed.
Groups: All groups are accepted.

Average

4.5
out of 5
74 reviews

100% recommend

Breakdown

Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities
Reviews
4.8
out of 5

12th February 2024:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your review.. Glad you enjoyed your stay :)

4
out of 5

21st January 2024:

Great position and all we required for an overnight stay.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.5
out of 5

13th October 2023:

Recent bad weather meant I was stranded as the road out of Oban was closed. Staff were very reassuring & made sure I had somewhere to stay. Thank you very much.

Tips:

Great place to base yourself. I found the people of Oban very friendly & helpful.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

3.8
out of 5

10th September 2023:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.3
out of 5

31st August 2023:

Continental breakfast was good value

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.8
out of 5

10th August 2023:

was first worried about going to this place after reading bad reviews but staying here I got a different experience. My attic room was clean and there was nothing wrong with it. The woman checking me in was lovely . I did have a nice few days here. My only issue was my door being hard to open and close. If you're over 5ft 5 do not book a single attic room or you will bang your head. Also breakfast isn't included. Overall a lovely place much cheaper than everywhere I would recommend.

Tips:

Go to weatherspoons for a cooked breakfast it's yummy

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it :)

5
out of 5

3rd August 2023:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate it :)

3.8
out of 5

9th June 2023:

Good sized room. Beds very soft, would recommend replacement, of mattresses at least. Clean and good value for money for our overnight stay.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your review.

5
out of 5

5th June 2023:

Very comfortable room. Very obliging staff. Position of hotel is walking distance to the village. We would definitely come here again.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it 😊

5
out of 5

1st May 2023:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

5
out of 5

16th March 2023:

The place was nice and warm. I will definitely recommend anyone visiting Oban

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate it :)

4.8
out of 5

31st December 2022:

second stay here and to be honest costing great.location great staff very helpful.parking 6pm/9am free outside property.only real downside if weather bad very small tv in room.otherwise ideal for short stay

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate it :)

5
out of 5

23rd November 2022:

Comfortable beds, extremely good value for money

Tips:

Parking a bit tricky during Winter Festival

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thankyou for your kind review:)

5
out of 5

9th September 2022:

Very homely and welcoming

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your kind review :)

5
out of 5

26th August 2022:

Visited with my family and stayed in the family budget room. We were across for the Argyllshire gathering. Our room was great and our beds were comfy too! Lovely view in the morning over to the bay. Room was very clean and so was the bathroom. It's only a short walk to the nearby centre of town or two minutes down to the bay. Ideal!! Will stay here again.

Tips:

Parking is limited outside on the street but there are two car parks at the end of the street which are free between 6pm and 9am. To park for the day it is £9.00.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

thank you for your kind review :) we really appreciate it.

4.5
out of 5

9th August 2022:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your kind review 😊

4
out of 5

4th August 2022:

Nice enough,clean and basic accomodation,only fault is can't check in till 4pm,which isn't great when train arrives at 1130am,however was allowed to leave bag in dining room so wasn't too bothered.Again check n from 1pm would be better,location is good near centre of Oban,would stay again,not worst place as many have reviewed.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your comments. Glad you were happy with your stay. Unfortunately it takes us until 3pm to clean rooms and get ready for new arrivals.

4.8
out of 5

31st July 2022:

Many thanks for the good, proffesional and helpfull service. Great location, clean and comfortable.

Tips:

Really enjoyed our brief stay in a great location with helpful friendly staff. Many thanks

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your review. Rally appreciated :)

4.5
out of 5

14th July 2022:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your review :)

4.8
out of 5

11th July 2022:

Great staff! They accommodated us very nicely & politely. We were able to store large luggage and return later when our rooms were ready. Highly efficient. Very friendly.

Tips:

If you are on the top floor, be aware that the staircase is narrow. This is an old Victorian boarding house. Rooms are small & staircases are steep and narrow. We were not made aware of an elevator option. (Not sure one exists.) This might not be a good choice for elderly or infirm people carrying large luggage. It was fine for us - just staying one night after catching the ferry.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your lovely review. we appreciate it :)

5
out of 5

30th June 2022:

Perfect.

Tips:

Highly recommended.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it :)

4.5
out of 5

13th June 2022:

Location was fine, straight past it coming in off the main road. Easy to communicate with and booking was simple.

Tips:

Ideal for shirt commute to dozen shops, pubs, and also 2 mins from the ferry terminal if that is your chosen destination. Remember to keep the keys on you at all times when venturing out of the BnB

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

5
out of 5

9th June 2022:

Lovely place close to the beach, the city and the Distillery :)

Tips:

Book now!

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your lovely review. We really do appreciate it :)

4.3
out of 5

5th May 2022:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

5
out of 5

22nd March 2022:

Very clean, beds were nicely made up. Check in was very easy despite our late arrival

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your lovely review.. W appreciate it. :)

4.3
out of 5

14th February 2022:

Stayed for two nights and had the continental breakfast. Had the best sleep and beds were very comfortable. Great location and central for everything. Looking forward to returning

Tips:

Great location and sea view from our room. Highly recommend

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.8
out of 5

29th October 2021:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.5
out of 5

14th October 2021:

Stayed a couple of times now and have absolutely no complaints. The guest house doesn’t set the world on fire but it certainly provides everything required. Will definitely choose to stay there again if I’m in Oban.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4
out of 5

4th October 2021:

ver helpful in organising key for our late arrival. Room was very clean and comfortable.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

5
out of 5

20th September 2021:

Wry quite and the room was clean

Tips:

Oban is a nice place Lot to do And nice restaurant too

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your lovely review. we appreciate it :)

5
out of 5

16th September 2021:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

5
out of 5

3rd September 2021:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your review :)

4.5
out of 5

3rd September 2021:

Very pleasant stay at Arbour, exactly what I required. No frills accommodation at a budget price. A comfy bed and everything clean. No complaints about anything. Hopefully I'll be using it again soon.

Tips:

Ideal location, only 5 mins from town centre and plenty parking nearby.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

5
out of 5

18th August 2021:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for your review 😊

5
out of 5

19th July 2021:

Great location. Friendly staff. Breakfast great under Covid restrictions. Great value.

Tips:

Parking on street free after 6pm

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

3.5
out of 5

28th July 2019:

Great to be able to bring dog: pretty comfy and very convenient. Thanks

Tips:

The Old Potting Shed is a dog friendly cafe which was lovely.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.8
out of 5

26th July 2019:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.5
out of 5

16th September 2018:

Very friendly welcome. Room small but good value for money. You just have to be a little patient for the central heating and shower to kick in but all works perfectly well

Tips:

Lots of variety in local food to eat. Pop over to Kerrera to see a little something different on Highland Island life. Calmac Ferry leaves from Gallanach Road. There is another ferry advertised from the centre of Oban which I presume is more expensive.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.5
out of 5

7th September 2018:

Very kind staff, beautiful and clean rooms and bathrooms just a step away from the port.

Tips:

Less than 5 minutes walk from the main restaurants, the harbor and Oban Distillery.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.8
out of 5

25th June 2018:

On Wednesday night we discovered the door doesn't lock to our room. When we pull is closed and it clicks but you can still just push it open. We loved the room, view and it was clean. The only other small think was the TV picture wasn't the best or the signal wasn't very good when you went above Channel 5. We will definitely book this room again. However we hope the lock will be fixed. We didn't see any staff members on Wednesday night or Thursday morning before we left to say to them about it.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.8
out of 5

25th June 2018:

Great value for the money. Decent room for a short stay and shared bath was clean and close to the room. Great location for exploring Oban.

Tips:

Oban distillery is great and plenty of seafood restaurant options.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.5
out of 5

2nd June 2018:

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our accommodations were private and spacious, and the shared bathroom was centrally located and clean. We would recommend the staff replenish the toilet paper at least once daily because we had to go get our own when it ran out. We never could find a staff person to ask about it. Also, the sheets come loose on the beds as you're sleeping so there might be a different way of making the beds to keep those secure. All in all, a very pleasant stay... thank you!

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

5
out of 5

26th May 2018:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

3.8
out of 5

8th May 2018:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.8
out of 5

21st August 2017:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

3.5
out of 5

15th August 2017:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

5
out of 5

11th August 2017:

Very nice Place! Good staff. Richard and Liz. I recommend you if you have a period in tobermory

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.3
out of 5

2nd August 2017:

The accommodation is fairly basic but at £30 a night you aren't going to get anything better particularly at this time of year there are places charging 3 times the amount. The TV could only pick up BBC channels clearly but I was only there one night. I had a problem with the booking when I was uncertain about where it was taken and the reply was a bit short on the phone but otherwise no problems. Breakfast is extra but there are cheaper options at the Corryvreckan half the price or on a steamer. If you are going to Craignure try to go on the Isle of Mull as the cuisine is limited on Coruisk A good place if you are catching a ferry the next day or joining s sailing boat

Tips:

Places to visit. The War and Peace Museum, McCaigs Tower and Pulpit Hill for views of the Bay. The trail to Dunolie Castle past Fingals Dogstone. The Island of Kerrara either by water taxi from the North Pier or the ferry from Gallanach well worth a visit

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.8
out of 5

9th June 2017:

Great location and value for money. Clean room and good to have tea and coffee making facilities. Lovely staff - very helpful. Shower somewhat ramshackle, and TV didn't work (?reception ?aerial)

Tips:

Come to Oban Live!

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.3
out of 5

6th June 2017:

Friendly staff. Good central location. Low cost rooms. Really good breakfast.

Tips:

George Street fish restaurant is amazing! Easily one of the top 2 fish suppers I've had in my life. Avoid Little Bay Cafe. Little effort goes into food served and pricey for what you're getting.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

5
out of 5

3rd November 2016:

I appreciated being able to find a room that was simple and affordable, clean and comfortable without being over the top. I personally don't even feel the need to have TV etc, so cheap accommodation without the frills suits me just fine.

Tips:

Fish and chip restaurant down the road was very good.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Thank you for liking your stay with us. We appreciate your comments. Arbour

4.3
out of 5

11th August 2016:

Confortable beds

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.3
out of 5

31st July 2016:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.8
out of 5

27th June 2016:

The travellers would have to be able to go up narrow stairs and be alright with going down from the attic to take a shower. Also, most of the people in my family are around or over 6 feet tall, so the attic is not the best for them. It would have been nice to have more water pressure when taking a shower.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

Owner Response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for giving us a good review. Our house is Victorian, so narrow stairs and attic rooms are a normal feature. You could have requested a ground floor room and we would have been happy to oblige if one was available. Thnk you Arbour Guest House

5
out of 5

2nd June 2016:

A really cosy house just near to Oban centre. Worth the price. I'd gladly recommend it to other visitors!

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4
out of 5

26th August 2015:

The guesthouse and our room where lovely. Nice and clean and comfy. The only issue I had was with breakfast, there was a limited supply of what was classed as " continental" and the staff member asked if we wanted the Scottish breakfast which we did but I then would have expected for her to return to ask what exactly we wanted but instead she just returned with breakfast with everything on it. Half of the breakfast I didn't want I would have preferred to be asked what I would like rather than just landed with a breakfast that I didn't eat most of but what I did have was nice.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

3.8
out of 5

23rd June 2015:

Very pleasant and helpful staff

Tips:

Very handy

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4
out of 5

1st June 2015:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4
out of 5

26th May 2015:

Excellent location, clean rooms and friendly staff. Only the room was a little bit cold as the heater wasn't on.

Tips:

Great restaurant: EE'USK. Visit Iona.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

5
out of 5

24th August 2014:

Good location

Tips:

Use the long stay carpark before you get into town as it's free after 6pm! Visit Norries chip shop absolutely yummy!

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4
out of 5

24th August 2014:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.8
out of 5

30th June 2014:

Had a great stay, only issue was that the internet did not work.

Tips:

Anything seafood. Making the trip to Kererra Island to see the castle.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

5
out of 5

1st June 2014:

U know what I highly recommendation the arbour oban greater Scottish guest house hotel complex yes a massive great big respectos to arbour gh the female staff was lovely personalitys very very very helpfull supportive kind with cares friendships the lot ok tops of the world to arbour gh complex s long live the greater Scottish Scotland uk/gb to land grace's loves of lands a great respectos to humans kindness's ok DET

Tips:

Just keep going forward loves lives it will love you back smiles every other will smiles including the sun ok as the great Scottish isles just relax with tranquills full of natures full of certain wonderfull humans peoples as my experiences I had found the islands human peoples lovely friendly humans aprt for a few I had over certain enquiry stays from first to finish funny enough but all other certain places I stop was wonderbars yes enjoyed the 2 weeks it was fun on the great Scottish isles lots to learn explores etc ok a big massive respectos with a tops of the world ok DET

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

3.8
out of 5

13th September 2013:

Very glad to find a reasonnably priced single room for an overnight stopover. Small room, but perfectly adequate for my needs.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4
out of 5

22nd August 2013:

Friendly, excelent breakfust

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

3.8
out of 5

17th June 2013:

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

5
out of 5

12th April 2013:

An excellent stay indeed....

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4
out of 5

15th March 2013:

Bes amazing but room.chilly although heating was on. I stayed in room 1

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

5
out of 5

24th August 2012:

There was a problem with my online booking, but it was handled really well, even got a room upgrade!

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

5
out of 5

11th June 2012:

Basic rooms, but very clean and comfortable, which is precisely as expected from a 2 star guest house.Great price. No frills, and no fuss. After check in we were left to our own devices, which we prefer. We didnt take breakfast in the morning as we had to leave early for the ferry.

Tips:

Very convenient for shops, bars and restaurants. Thoroughly enjoyed our free drink in O'Donnell's, just round the corner.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

3.8
out of 5

10th June 2012:

Roomdoors make a lot of noise, specially if people don't take care and use the bathroom a lot, both late at night and very early in the morning, my neighbours left at 6.15!(with children etc.).

Tips:

Remember to bring earplugs.....

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4
out of 5

29th May 2012:

i thoroughly enjoyed my 3 night stay. what i liked about it was that nobody bothered you,you were just left to please yourself and the facilities were kept spotless. i am not sure yet but i would like to stay the last friday and saturday nights of the next few months, would i get the same room or similar for £25 hoping to hear from you

Tips:

i spent a lovely day over in Mull with a bus meeting the ferry to take you to various places. I went to Tobermory and had a couple of hours sightseeing before getting the bus back to the ferry. I also recommend abus trip to Seil Island the scenery is fantastic

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

4.3
out of 5

26th April 2012:

Pleasant stay whilst working in Oban

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

3.5
out of 5

23rd March 2012:

1. Non-emergency contact information needed. 2. The booking date on screen somehow changed before confirmation - grateful for it being sored out on arrival. Never previously had this problem with any hotel etc booking, so think the date changed on the system and not that I put in wrong information. 3. Full cooked breakfast off premises much cheaper than continental premises on premises!

Tips:

Handy for ferries, restraurants and the Oban distillery By small room expect one the size of a train sleeper compartment - but ok for 1 night.

Ratings:
Location
Cleanliness
Service/Staff
Facilities

Would Recommend: Yes

.